Mumbles Railway Slip Bridge
Swansea Mumbles Railway was the first passenger-carrying railway in the world. Records show it was put in motion by an act of Parliament in 1804 and started to transport passengers on 25th March 1807.
The original coach was drawn by a single horse along railway tracks that went from Rutland Street, Swansea (now the site of St David’s car park) and would travel as far as Oystermouth Square, Mumbles. Throughout its existence, it used many modes of power from being a single horse-drawn carriage to a double horse-drawn carriage, steam-powered railway engines and finally to become an electric tram construction. In 1877 steam locomotives were used for the first time along the seafront of Swansea Bay, pulling carriages packed with residents and tourists from Swansea and far afield. The line was extended as far as the Mumbles Pier and these shunting engines would only ever face one way as there was never a turntable. On 6th July 1928 trials started on the electrification of the railway and special tram carriages were designed to carry 212 passengers per carriage. These carriages could be coupled together in pairs carrying up to 424 passengers per trip. The carriages were designed with the doors only on one side of the carriage facing Mumbles Road, there was no need of doors on the beach side, this made the tram cars very unique in design. During the Edwardian period the beach along side Victoria Park had become a very popular area to visit. In 1913 a 130 tonne iron bridge was designed and built, supported by two stone abutments. The bridge spanned across Mumbles road, Mumbles Railway line and the main LMS railway lines. Construction of the bridge took place during 1914 and was completed in 1915, the bridge became a major feature of the town with wonderful views of the bay, the floral clock, Victoria Park, the Guildhall, the Bay View Hotel and Swansea Bath’s.